For the first time, an original song of mine has been commercially released!  “Your Love (How Deep, How Wide)” is a Christian Dance-Pop song that I wrote the music for, produced, and mixed.  The lyrics were written by Mary B., and she sang it, too.  “Your Love” is currently available on iTunes, Amazonmp3, and soon it should be up on Spotify and several other stores, too.

You can buy it here


http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/your-love-how-deep-how-wide/id501871141

“Your Love” was the result of three years of hard work and dedication; I have probably spent at least 300 hours on it.  This song has truly been a journey for me, as I have learned so much along the way.

“Your Love” was the result of three years of hard work and dedication; I have probably spent at least 300 hours on it.  This song has truly been a journey for me, as I have learned so much along the way.  When I first wrote the chord progression for it, and began rcording it in Logic, it was one of the first songs I wrote where I didn’t write the score for it first.  Mary B. first came to me with some lyrics almost a year ago, and then I began to change it into a vocal song, and add more instruments.  Although I finished arranging “Your Love” fairly quickly, I didn’t really know what I was doing as far as the mix was concerned.  I knew how I wanted it to sound, but I didn’t have a clue how to get it to sound like that.  And then, the problem was, I kept learning more, so then I would have to go back and do the mix all over again.  This probably happened at least a dozen times!

But now, I have learned important truths about mixing: It’s never done, and it’s never good enough.  You just have to ship it anyway!  There comes a point when you have two choices: go mad trying to make it perfect, or ship it because you’re really the only one who can hear that there’s that pesky noise at 5k on your high-hat, and there’s sonic bleeding of the click at -20db on your piano; just ship it.

I have spent three years working on “Your Love,” and now it’s time to put it out there and work on my next projects…

What do you think? Share your thoughts:

